My Eyelid Has a Message

My left eyelid has been twitching for about two months. I like to work with objective data, so I’ve made some observations during an eight-hour drive home from North Carolina and during mass on Sunday: the twitch can occur up to 6 times in an hour, but mostly it’s about 3 times an hour. According to Healthline.com, “The most common causes of eyelid twitch are stress, fatigue, and caffeine. To ease eye twitching, you might want to try the following: Drink less caffeine. Get adequate sleep.” Excellent advice. Except when stress comes from work, kids, husband, or trying to get published, I’d like my eyelid to know I’m doing the best I can, give me a break. And fatigue? Well, that has a remedy, it’s called caffeine. Get adequate sleep? Actually, I usually do even though I’d love to say I stay up late writing, but every time I’ve tried it, I have to rewrite everything the next day anyway. Drink less caffeine? Where will my jolt of energy come from to deal with the work, kids, husband, and writing? In other words, the eyelid twitching is here to stay. Just hope it doesn’t affect my writ-it-it-ing. Oh, sorry, my eyelid was twitching.

4 thoughts on “My Eyelid Has a Message

Leave a Reply

