Hide the Boobies?

I normally write witty, silly things (just read my homepage if you don’t believe me) but today I’m digressing to a woman’s topic where I might just take the non-feminist side of the debate. Feel free to leave comments/debate/opinions, just not pictures of breasts please. According to the Washington Post, there was a mother who breastfed her 19-month-old in church and was asked to go to a private room, and was later told the church does not allow breastfeeding without a cover so that others will not feel uncomfortable. The mother posted her dispute on Facebook and she won’t return to that church because she feels unwelcome.

Now, I support breastfeeding. No argument there. I am even grateful that public places are making special rooms and providing laws to protect people who breastfeed in public. I loved the cozy little room at the Indianapolis Museum of Art that was specially designed for breastfeeding mothers. Hurray! But, I don’t think it’s too much to ask for a mom to use a cover when she’s in public. I don’t. I’m sorry. Where it may be a baby’s food source, it is also a sex organ that visually causes reactions–ever since, well, Adam and Eve (thanks a lot you two). Now, if you have a wardrobe malfunction, that’s another (sort of humorous) situation. But not using a blanket or cover while breastfeeding might very well make people uncomfortable. Being discreet is called courtesy. Baby gets the very best nutrition in the world; boobies hidden and no one feels awkward. Sounds like a win/win to me.

The debate on the Washington Post website is quite lengthy. But, what do you think?

 

7 thoughts on “Hide the Boobies?

  1. The women who have problems with other wome breastfeeding and revealing boobies are lesbian and in denial. The Christian subculture of stifling drives and emotions makes them complain to get credit for stifling themselves. Men usually don’t complain. We love breasts. I’m not sure how gay men feel about it but those are my deeply held beliefs of what is really happening here. 🙂

    Like

  2. In my personal experience of breastfeeding, I found that the breast exposure was not greater than a low cut decollete. The baby’s head covers more than one might think. My daughter thought I was a walking deli and I nursed her on demand.That said, I did withdraw to more private spaces in very public places, courtesy, yes, and I didn’t want to be ogled. 😉 xoxoM

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I agree 100% with every word you wrote! It’s not that hard to discreetly drape a cover. I didn’t breastfeed in public as I had twins that I fed together and there is just no achieving discreetness there! 😃🐻

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I think that breastfeeding in public without a cover should be normalized. More women should do it. I wouldnt expect anyone to eat covered with a sheet, so why should I expect a baby too? If someones feels uncomfortable then that’s their issue and they can remove themselves. Breastfeeding is not a sexual act and shouldnt be seen as one.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

