Between Good Sleep and Bad

In the morning, I stand at a precipice

If well rested, I stand still

Keep my plans for the day, perhaps

A run, a story, at my will.

 

If well rested, I stand still

And oversee the day’s events

Grocery, laundry, never dawdle

Get things done—it just makes sense.

 

Keep my plans for the day, perhaps

Yummy dinner in the crock,

Vacuum, pick up, feed the dog,

But too soon, it’s three o’clock!

 

A run, a story, at my will

I had thought at start of day

And not waste a rested brain

On slick diversions, candid play.

 

In the morning, I stand at a precipice

If not rested, jump and blame

Poor sleep for lack of progress

Odd . . . the day still looks the same.

3 thoughts on “Between Good Sleep and Bad

Leave a Reply

