Bucket List

When you hear the phrase “bucket list” what do you think?

1) Can’t wait to cross of the next thing! I’m on a roll!

2) Someday I’ll come up with something…

3) That’s for crazies.

4) OhMyGoshIDon’tHaveOneAndI’mMissingOutOnSomethingI’mSure!

5) A combination of numbers 2-4, especially depending on current mood or time of the month

Can you guess mine? Yup, number 5.

A few weeks ago a fellow blogger (Mitch Teemley) posted a question: What’s on yours [bucket list]? I looked at the picture of a bucket, I thought briefly about commenting with a clever, impressive ambition, ultimately hit “like,” and proceeded to not like my own feelings about it for a few weeks. Why? Because I don’t have a bucket list. To me, a bucket list is more than realistic goals (which I have plenty), a bucket list implies those wild and awe-inspiring, selfie-taking, blog-posting highlights of life often stemming from hidden fears or amazing dreams that for people like me who are very type A and not super spontaneous might miss out on if we don’t put in on a list.

Now that I’ve recovered from the guilt of not having a bucket list, I suppose the only thing left to do is to create one. Luckily, I have a little help—a document titled “100 Things To Do Before You Die” that I saved in five years ago with the notion of USING it to create my bucket list. Some of the ideas I just don’t care to do—skydiving? Not interested. Brew your own beer? eh, I’ll leave that up to the pros, some of them are really good. Grow a beard? Yeah, no. But, looking at the ones I am interested in, but would take a certain level of guts and planning, I forced myself to pick five to start my list.

1) Ride the tallest roller coaster in the world–Kingda Ka, Six Flags, New Jersey (gulp)

2) Go scuba diving

3) Take a ride in a hot-air balloon

4) Own one expensive but absolutely wonderful outfit (I’m guessing I’ll have to go beyond my usual Target or Kohl’s to find one)

5) Spend a whole day eating junk food without feeling guilty (an exploit the kids would love to join me on)

So, readers, here comes the question, whether you “like” it or wish to post an angry face: What’s on Your Bucket List?

3 thoughts on “Bucket List

Leave a Reply

